Press Releases

The 2nd Annual Lovie Awards winners announced


SoundCloud, VICE, StumbleUpon, Akestam Holst awarded alongside Special Achievement Honourees Stephen Fry and Professor Heinz Gerhäuser & Team, creators of the MP3 file format

Voting for ‘The People’s Lovie’ opens today

16th October, London — The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) today announces the winners in the 2nd Annual Lovie Awards. The Lovie Awards, the European sister to The Webby Awards, recognises excellence across the EU Web in Websites, Internet Video, Online Advertising and Mobile + Apps. Winners from over 20 countries will be celebrated in London on 14th November at St Lukes, Shoreditch, during Internet Week Europe.

While Academy judges like Tom Uglow, Creative Director at Google Creative Lab, Tweetdeck Founder Iain Dodsworth, Fashion Designer Henry Holland, and Musician Imogen Heap select the Lovie winners, starting today millions of fans across Europe will also help decide who takes home a coveted Lovie by voting in The People’s Lovie Awards. The public has until November 1 to vote at:

This year’s special achievement winners include Lovie Person of the Year Stephen Fry, who has been recognised for his longstanding and effervescent presence in Europe’s vibrant digital community.

Stephen Fry said, “I’m tremendously excited that my achievements are considered special enough to warrant an award. Digital culture is something I’ve always been proud to support, so I’m delighted to be part of the Lovies.”

The academy will also honour Professor Heinz Gerhäuser, the leader of the team responsible for creating the MP3 file format, with a Lovie Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of the visionary development and introduction of the MP3, a format that revolutionised industries and lives world- wide. The first recipient of this honour was awarded to Bjork for her work on album Biophilia in 2011.

Mobile & Apps proved a fiercely competitive category in 2012, with winners ranging from Wedding
Planning (Wedding Planner for iPad, by Createful, Silver Award) to money-saving comparison sites (Sky Scanner app by Sky Scanner, Gold and Bronze Awards) to gaming (‘The Voice of Holland’ developed by IceMobile, Gold Award, and City Golf by Weapon7 Silver Award).

Works that captivated the public this year have also caught the attention of IADAS: the gripping viral video with over 1,000,000 views on YouTube, ‘Don’t Cover it up’, made by BBH for Refuge’s domestic violence campaign featuring YouTube celebrity beauty vlogger Lauren Luke, won two Bronze awards. The VICE UK/Noisey production ‘Skrillex Reviewed by Cute Kids’, which also boasts over 1,000,000 views on YouTube, earned a Bronze. Consumer favourites including Housebites (Bronze in Food and Beverage), SoundCloud (Silver, Bronze, in Web Services and Applications and Community and Social for Tablet), and Moshi Monsters (Bronze in Youth) were also recognised.

Online Advertising winners include agency AKQA, winning five Lovie Awards, for work on campaigns including the NikeFuel Station and MTV Under The Thumb, and digital agency Dare for their work on ‘Time to Change: The Stand-up Kid’. Building on the six awards received in the inaugural Lovie Awards, AMVBBDO has received two gold awards for the ‘Escape the Map’ campaign for Mercedes-Benz.

Swedish advertising agency Åkestam Holst amassed nine Lovie Awards for superlative campaign work making it the agency to win most Lovie Awards over all. Campaigns awarded include the revolutionary campaign for Pepsi The Sound of Football. Other notable agencies include French creative studio Soleil Noir that, amongst several other awards, racked up two gold Lovies for ‘Believe in 2012’.

“The Lovie Awards was conceived to show just how vibrant and creative a digital community we have in Europe” said Nicolas Roope, Academy Chair for European IADAS members. “We are very proud in year two to recognise such outstanding work from across Europe.”

For the second year in a row, Vitamin T, a new division of Aquent, are supporting the awards as Official Sponsor and the Lovies is delighted to welcome new sponsors Internet Explorer from Microsoft, MediaMonks, Uber, Wayra and Bizzabo.

Full list of 2012 award winners available

Other Highlights of The 2nd Annual Lovie Awards:

London 2012 by LOCOG – Gold Award in Sports
Unlock the truth about Guantanamo by Gabergs 
 –  Gold Award in Integrated Mobile
The World’s Best CV by Gyro Communication – Gold Award in Best Practices launch by Fellow Porteur – Gold Award in Online-only Campaign
TripAdvisor Local Picks by TripAdvisor – Gold Award in Lifestyle
Glamour Person Shopper by Conde Naste Italia – Silver Award in Integrated Mobile 
StumbleUpon Mobile Apps by Stumbleupon – Silver Award in Entertainment: Tablet
Financial Times Mobile Web App by Financial Times – Four Silver Awards in Mobile 
Innovation: Tablet, News, News:Tablet, Integrated Experience
Nespresso – What Else by Soleil Noir – Gold and Bronze Awards in Food & Beverage and 
Branded Content
KLM passport by IceMobile – Gold and Silver Awards in Lifestyle and Community & Social
Trendtation by Trendtation – Silver and Bronze Awards in Lifestyle and Fashion & Beauty
Wondermind by Preloaded – Gold and Silver Awards in Games and Best Use of Interactive 
TEDx Interactive Brain by MediaMonks – Silver and Bronze Awards in Flash and Social & 
100 Years of RITTER by Kolle Rebbe GmbH – Silver and Bronze Awards for Best 
Home/Welcome Page and Corporate Communications
BuddyApp by Buddy Enterprises – Gold Award for Community & Social
22 Tracks by 22 Tracks – Bronze Award in Music


For more information please contact:
Louise Thompson ( or Nicola Lamb ( at (0203 176 2700)

About The Lovie Awards

The Lovie Awards was created to specifically honour achievement and the huge amount of outstanding work in Europe while taking into account local market differences.

Hence, it is open to entries in five different European languages, in recognition of the unique and resonant nature of the European internet community.

Work can be entered in four main category types: Websites, Mobile & Apps, Online Film & Video, Interactive Advertising & Media. Within the four groups, there are a number of subcategories, over 80 in total, ranging from experimental websites and viral video through to mobile innovation, apps and integrated campaigns.



About The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences was founded in 1998 to help drive the creative, technical, and professional progress of the Internet and evolving forms of interactive media. An international organisation, The Academy selects the Nominees and Winners for The Webby Awards, the leading honour for Web sites and individual achievement in technology and creativity. The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes members such as musician David Bowie, Internet Co-inventor Vint Cerf, Arianna Huffington, President and Editor- in-Chief of Huffington Post Media Group, Twitter Co-founder Biz Stone, Chairman and Founder of R/GA Bob Greenberg, Co-Founder of Instagram Kevin Systrom, Executive Creative Director at Google Lab, Iain Tait, Mozilla CEO and Chair Mitchell Baker, Tumblr Founder David Karp, and Roy L. Furman Professor of Law and Leadership at Harvard Law School, Lawrence Lessig.

More information at

  • Share This Article
  • All
  • Features
Type to search what you're looking for


Sort by

  • Date
  • Alphabetical